“I Am a Warrior of Light”


We encourage and invite you to practice this affirmation with us during these challenging times, with its focus on radiating light to the world.

“God’s light is within me and around me. With the sword of faith in my hand, with the love of God in my heart, I am a warrior of light. I join my brothers and sisters everywhere to overcome fear with faith, hatred with love, and disease with health. We all are warriors of light. We fill the world with God’s light.”

What Is
Ananda?

Ananda is dedicated to the belief, born of experience, that you can live in joy. We teach effective techniques for expanding your sense of self, such as meditation, Kriya Yoga, spiritual Hatha Yoga, and divine friendship.
More about Ananda

Stay in Touch

Our Inspiration

Paramhansa Yogananda has been called the father of yoga and meditation in the West. His Autobiography helped spark and inspire a spiritual revolution across the world. Among the over three-hundred (influential spiritual voices) I interviewed about their key spiritual influences, a high percentage named a book, and by far the book most often mentioned was Yogananda’s unique memoir.Phil Goldberg, American Veda
Paramhansa Yogananda (1893 – 1952), best known as the author of Autobiography of a Yogi, was the first guru from India to make his home permanently in the United States.Paramhansa Yogananda showed how everyone, by means of meditation, can realize God in their daily lives as a tangible, loving reality. He taught an ancient meditation technique known as Kriya Yoga, by which one can quickly attain Self-realization. More
Swami Kriyananda (1926–2013), is a direct disciple of Paramhansa Yogananda and the founder of Ananda’s worldwide movement.

At the request of Yogananda, Swami Kriyananda dedicated his life to lecturing and writing, and has also produced hundreds of pieces of music, to help others to find joy within. More

With the passing of Swami Kriyananda in 2013, Nayaswami Jyotish was named by Kriyananda as his spiritual successor. Jyotishji met Swami Kriyananda in 1966, working closely with him and his wife, Devi (who came to Ananda in 1969), to build Ananda’s work around the world. Both Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi were named kriyacharyas by Swami Kriyananda, and disseminate the liberating and ancient Kriya Yoga technique of Paramhansa Yogananda’s lineage. More

Meditation & Kriya Yoga

Learn to Meditate

Meditation is a technique for personal growth that has been practiced for thousands of years around the world with repeatable results. There is no aspect of your life that cannot be improved by meditation, whether it be in business, relationships, or health. The highest purpose of meditation, however, is to discover your Highest Self.

We offer a free, five-day email series for a basic overview of how to meditate, specifying posture options, where and when to meditate, and a simple, effective technique. It also includes a subscription to our weekly newsletter of inspiration and events.


Online Course: Lessons in Meditation

Whether or not you are new to meditation, this course will help you develop a deep and consistent practice. With ample feedback from meditators with decades of experience and your own persistence, you will awaken your true nature: a pure reflection of divine peace, joy, and love.

Ananda is known for its expertise in meditation, and for almost 50 years has trained teachers in techniques grounded in the highest yogic practices of India, as brought to the West by Paramhansa Yogananda.

Next Session:
April 15, 2021  – June 24, 2021

Current Session:
March 4, 2021  – May 13, 2021

Tuition: $99.95

Enroll Now

Kriya Yoga

Kriya Yoga is an ancient meditation technique of energy and breath control, or pranayama. It is also a comprehensive spiritual path, which includes additional meditation practices and guidance for living.

The Kriya technique is given through personal initiation by one of our Kriya Yoga teachers. Initiation requires preparation which includes the practice of other meditation techniques and study of Paramhansa Yogananda’s teachings.
Learn More


Community

Let us join together in this wave of social transformation, and through our practice of meditation create a spirit of global unity that can lead to lasting peace.Nayaswami Devi

Connect Online

Ananda is very active online: Live events, satsangs, group guided meditations, and personal support through email and chat. Learn More

Find a Local Center

Ananda has over 150 centers and meditation groups in over 45 countries which offer group meditations and classes. Learn More

Experience Community

Ananda has developed eight communities in the US, Europe, and India. Many offer internships where you can stay and experience community firsthand. Learn More


Be a Warrior for the Light

Now is the time to bring light and positive energy into the world — it’s needed today more than ever.

Watch this video from Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi, along with Dr. Peter van Houten, to learn what we can do on all levels — spiritually and physically — to be safe and help the world.

You can also read this letter to all of Ananda. And for more medical information, see this informative video on COVID-19.

God’s light is within me and around me. With the sword of faith in my hand, with the love of God in my heart, I am a warrior of light. I join my brothers and sisters everywhere to overcome fear with faith, hatred with love, and disease with health. We all are warriors of light. We fill the world with God’s light.”


A Call to Action

Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi share about the need for positive action in this time of turmoil and crisis.

Join the Campaign for World Healing


Every Thursday at 8:00 am PST / 5:00 pm CEST / 9:30 pm IST, Ananda centers in the U.S., India, and Italy host a gathering to meditate, affirm, and visualize light and harmony in the world.

Learn more

What’s New


Recent Posts and Videos

39:37

Dogmatism vs Common Sense

4:09

Ananda Yoga Instructional Videos – Shashankasana (Hare Pose)

29:07

Ancient Key to Prosperity: Tithing – Money Magnetism #12

4:05

Yogananda’s Mahasamadhi

49:31

Autobiography of a Yogi: Book Study (Class 34)

1:55:25

Discovering the Nobility of Your Soul

50:16

Shiva Kirtan

3:00

Celebrations – Commentary

  AUDIO ONLY

Where Can I Get a Comfortable Small Meditation Chair?

Dear Christophe, People all have unique bodies and to find the best meditation chair for you will require that you try out options. The principles of seating are that your spine is straight. This means the natural curves at the ... Read More

the next wave painting by Nayaswami Jyotish shows the celebratory energy of sharing the light

Celebrations

50:39

Flow With Change: Spiritual Yoga with Gyandev

19:20

The Need for Educational Reform

How to Help My Adult Son Find a Job

Dear Friend, I feel for your concerns and for your son’s discouragement. This pattern is seen all too often around the world: a recent college graduate cannot or will not find work, and the longer he (usually a “he”) stays ... Read More

The Yoga of Food

The Eight Meannesses of the Heart: How to Overcome Them, Part II

I Saw a Light and a Shadow Swirl Around My Room. What Was It?

Dear Abigail, Since it was a guided meditation, which usually involves imagination, it can easily have been an experience born from the subconscious mind, another imagination, so strong that it appeared real. It might also have been a true, deep ... Read More

Will My Relationship Last?

Dear Dee, There’s a footnote in Paramhansa Yogananda’s (now famous) life story, Autobiography of a Yogi that says, quoting Buddha, to the effect, that the reason to love everyone is that, at some point in our past lives, we have ... Read More

I See Space with Closed and Open Eyes. Is it the Same Space?

Dear Self, It is probably the same space. Inner experiences can be taken into our outer life. Even the OM sound can be heard by some in daily life. Similarly the spiritual eye can be seen by some with open ... Read More

Sri Anandamayi Ma Yogananda teachings

Exit Strategies

Why Do So Many People Start the Spiritual Search Later in Life?

Dear Lourdes, There is a natural rhythm to the flow of life that impacts many, though not all, people. A toddler learns to walk, talk, and use the body. A child goes to school and learns to get along with ... Read More

How Can I Manifest a Life Partner?

Dear Pooja, We, as children of Divine Mother, are entitled to ask of Her anything. But She knows what we are meant to receive. When we pray, we always understand: not my will, but Thy will be done. Deep faith ... Read More

Can the Spiritual Path Help Solve Family Problems?

Dear Friend, Life without problems to solve would be intolerable for more than a brief period of time! The world could not exist without the play of opposites constantly vying for our attention and participation. So let’s begin by accepting ... Read More

Prayer for Expanding Love

A Strong Energy Rises in My Spine, Disturbing My Ability to Work

Dear One, Your experience in truth is wonderful. It’s a little bit like the one of Swami Pranabananda as described in the Autobiography of a Yogi: “‘At work, I find an overpowering sensation rising in my spine. It permeates my ... Read More

Is My Marriage Over?

Dear Friend, I am sorry for the loss of warmth and friendship between you and your husband. You didn’t mention whether together you’ve acknowledged the state to which your relationship has fallen. Is it even possible to have a conversation? ... Read More

The Eight Meannesses of the Heart: How to Overcome Them – Part I: RACIAL PREJUDICE

Catching God

Going to the Mountain Is Going Home

Swamiji Guides My Relationships

soul freedom is the merging into the divine light

The Light Shining in Darkness

The Hound of Heaven

Beyond the Pandemic

how to achieve peace and the difference between peace and calmness, seen in these wildflowers outside of ananda assisi temple

Peace

Keeping Your Balance

hope for a better world yogananda teachings jyotish art spring comes

Hope for a Better World

The Higher Mathematics of Paramhansa Yogananda

yoganandas mother ghosh

Dealing with Change and Loss

paramhansa yogananda is the avatar of love, wisdom, and joy author of autobiography of a yogi

In Love and Appreciation

The Imitation of Yogananda

Four Lamps to Illumine 2021


Online Events

The Essence of the Bhagavad Gita

Mar 9 12:15 am PST • Mar 9 08:15 GMT • Mar 9 13:45 IST

Treasures Along the Path

Mar 9 8:00 am PST • Mar 9 16:00 GMT • Mar 9 21:30 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Mar 9 12:00 pm PST • Mar 9 20:00 GMT • Mar 10 01:30 IST

Nurturing Your Soul: 15-Min Guided Meditation for Beginners

Mar 9 12:00 pm PST • Mar 9 20:00 GMT • Mar 10 01:30 IST

Ananda Yoga & Meditation Sadhana

Mar 9 3:00 pm PST • Mar 9 23:00 GMT • Mar 10 04:30 IST

Conversations with Yogananda

Mar 9 7:30 pm PST • Mar 10 03:30 GMT • Mar 10 09:00 IST

Weekly Guided Kriya Meditation

Mar 10 5:30 am PST • Mar 10 13:30 GMT • Mar 10 19:00 IST

Whispers From Eternity: An Exploration of Prayer and Poetry

Mar 10 8:15 am PST • Mar 10 16:15 GMT • Mar 10 21:45 IST

Family Yoga

Mar 10 9:00 am PST • Mar 10 17:00 GMT • Mar 10 22:30 IST

Healing Prayers for the World

Mar 10 10:00 am PST • Mar 10 18:00 GMT • Mar 10 23:30 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Mar 10 12:00 pm PST • Mar 10 20:00 GMT • Mar 11 01:30 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Mar 11 12:00 pm PST • Mar 11 20:00 GMT • Mar 12 01:30 IST

Ananda Yoga & Meditation Sadhana

Mar 11 3:00 pm PST • Mar 11 23:00 GMT • Mar 12 04:30 IST

Weekly Satsang, with Nayawamis Hriman & Padma

Mar 11 7:30 pm PST • Mar 12 03:30 GMT • Mar 12 09:00 IST

Lunchtime Meditation

Mar 12 10:00 am PST • Mar 12 18:00 GMT • Mar 12 23:30 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Mar 12 12:00 pm PST • Mar 12 20:00 GMT • Mar 13 01:30 IST

Awake and Ready Yoga

Mar 12 1:00 pm PST • Mar 12 21:00 GMT • Mar 13 02:30 IST

Friday Night “Happy Hour” Kirtan!

Mar 12 5:00 pm PST • Mar 13 01:00 GMT • Mar 13 06:30 IST

Saturday Morning Yoga with Lynn

Mar 13 7:00 am PST • Mar 13 15:00 GMT • Mar 13 20:30 IST

Sunday Service at Ananda Washington

Mar 14 1:30 am PST • Mar 14 09:30 GMT • Mar 14 15:00 IST

More Events

Upcoming Events

Annual Appeal Satsangs 2021

March 13 & 14 from 4:00 to 5:00 pm PST
Jyotish-Devi-outdoors-portrait-2019-bb-1024x683

We invite you to join Ananda’s Spiritual Directors,
Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi,
and others for an informative and deeply inspiring satsang, broadcast live from the Ananda Village Temple of Light.

Thank you for your interest and support of Yogananda and Swami Kriyananda’s vision as shared through Ananda Worldwide’s expansive and creative outreach efforts.

Losing the Fear of Death through the Science of Yoga

A YOGIC EXPLORATION OF LIFE’S DEEPEST MYSTERY
Losing Fear of Death

March 10, 2021, 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm Pacific time
Investment: $25

Sign Up Now

  • The metaphysical purpose of death
  • What exactly happens at the time of death
  • Are our loved ones truly lost after death? If not, where are they, and can they be contacted?
  • Understanding Paramhansa Yogananda’s statement “Breathlessness is deathlessness”
  • Overcoming all fear and anxiety related to death, dying and bereavement
  • Yogic precepts for helping others deal with grief and bereavement
  • Achieving victory over death: Practical ways to tap into your true, deathless nature

Thank You, God – Tithing as a Spiritual Practice


Tithing is a spiritual practice, a conscious expression of gratitude given without condition to the source of your inspiration– God. We invite you to try it. Hear the stories of others, but test this teaching in your own life and see what transpires.

Learn More About Thank You, God

Your support is a blessing for all

Ananda is a beacon of light, breaking through the darkness of this world with the universal teachings of Self-realization.

Thank you for being a part of this community of souls who support each other on our path to God.

Donate Now