Text goes here, plus a link

Live! Be a Warrior for the Light live broadcast, 8:00 am PST, 5:00 pm CEST, 8:30 pm IST every Thursday. Share in a worldwide campaign for global healing.

Be a Warrior for the Light


Now is the time to bring light and positive energy into the world — it’s needed today more than ever.

Watch this video from Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi, along with Dr. Peter van Houten, to learn what we can do on all levels — spiritually and physically — to be safe and help the world.

You can also read this letter to all of Ananda. And for more medical information, see this informative video on COVID-19.

 

Join a Worldwide Campaign for Global Healing

Every Thursday at 8:00 am PDT / 5:00 pm CEST / 7:30 pm IST, Ananda centers in the U.S., India, and Italy will host a gathering to meditate, and affirm and visualize light in the world.

Learn more

Online Events

There are hundreds of events each week from Ananda centers around the world.
View all


Ananda Yoga: Rise and Shine!

Jun 3 9:00 am PDT • Jun 3 16:00 GMT • Jun 3 21:30 IST

Satsang with Asha

Jun 3 9:00 am PDT • Jun 3 16:00 GMT • Jun 3 21:30 IST

Family Yoga

Jun 3 9:00 am PDT • Jun 3 16:00 GMT • Jun 3 21:30 IST

Healing Prayers for the World

Jun 3 10:00 am PDT • Jun 3 17:00 GMT • Jun 3 22:30 IST

Satsang: Kriya Yoga as a life style – ENG/ITA

Jun 3 10:30 am PDT • Jun 3 17:30 GMT • Jun 3 23:00 IST

Vibras Meditation for Kids

Jun 3 10:30 am PDT • Jun 3 17:30 GMT • Jun 3 23:00 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Jun 3 12:00 pm PDT • Jun 3 19:00 GMT • Jun 4 00:30 IST

Noon Meditation

Jun 3 12:00 pm PDT • Jun 3 19:00 GMT • Jun 4 00:30 IST

Guided Healing Prayers with Mary Kretzmann

Jun 3 1:00 pm PDT • Jun 3 20:00 GMT • Jun 4 01:30 IST

Meditation in Portuguese

Jun 3 3:30 pm PDT • Jun 3 22:30 GMT • Jun 4 04:00 IST

Meditación Guiada para Aprender a Meditar: Guided Meditation for Beginners

Jun 3 3:30 pm PDT • Jun 3 22:30 GMT • Jun 4 04:00 IST

Yoga Class for Children (Ages 6 – 10)

Jun 3 4:00 pm PDT • Jun 3 23:00 GMT • Jun 4 04:30 IST

Afternoon Meditation

Jun 3 4:30 pm PDT • Jun 3 23:30 GMT • Jun 4 05:00 IST

Guided Meditation – Ananda Noida India

Jun 3 4:30 pm PDT • Jun 3 23:30 GMT • Jun 4 05:00 IST

Energization Exercises and Guided Meditation – Ananda Delhi India

Jun 3 6:10 pm PDT • Jun 4 01:10 GMT • Jun 4 06:40 IST

Autobiography of a Yogi Study Group

Jun 3 7:00 pm PDT • Jun 4 02:00 GMT • Jun 4 07:30 IST

Guided Meditation – Ananda Pune India

Jun 3 7:00 pm PDT • Jun 4 02:00 GMT • Jun 4 07:30 IST

Soul to Soul: Swami Kriyananda and His Music

Jun 3 7:30 pm PDT • Jun 4 02:30 GMT • Jun 4 08:00 IST

Guided Meditation in Marathi – Ananda Pune India

Jun 3 7:30 pm PDT • Jun 4 02:30 GMT • Jun 4 08:00 IST

Long Meditation with purification – ITA/ENG

Jun 3 9:30 pm PDT • Jun 4 04:30 GMT • Jun 4 10:00 IST


How to Live in Challenging Times

108 videos, articles, and other resources for meeting present realities with an uplifted consciousness.

What Is
Ananda?

Ananda is dedicated to the belief, born of experience, that you can live in joy. We teach effective techniques for expanding your sense of self, such as meditation, Kriya Yoga, spiritual Hatha Yoga, and divine friendship.
More about Ananda

Stay in Touch

Receive uplifting articles, videos, news updates, and advice to enliven your spiritual life, including opportunities to support and connect with Ananda.

Our Inspiration

Paramhansa Yogananda has been called the father of yoga and meditation in the West. His Autobiography helped spark and inspire a spiritual revolution across the world. Among the over three-hundred (influential spiritual voices) I interviewed about their key spiritual influences, a high percentage named a book, and by far the book most often mentioned was Yogananda’s unique memoir.Phil Goldberg, American Veda
Paramhansa Yogananda (1893 – 1952), best known as the author of Autobiography of a Yogi, was the first guru from India to make his home permanently in the United States.Paramhansa Yogananda showed how everyone, by means of meditation, can realize God in their daily lives as a tangible, loving reality. He taught an ancient meditation technique known as Kriya Yoga, by which one can quickly attain Self-realization. More
Swami Kriyananda (1926 – 2013), is a direct disciple of Paramhansa Yogananda and the founder of Ananda’s worldwide movement.

At the request of Yogananda, Swami Kriyananda dedicated his life to lecturing and writing, and has also produced hundreds of pieces of music, to help others to find joy within. More

With the passing of Swami Kriyananda in 2013, Nayaswami Jyotish was named by Kriyananda as his spiritual successor. Jyotishji met Swami Kriyananda in 1966, working closely with him and his wife, Devi (who came to Ananda in 1969), to build Ananda’s work around the world. Both Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi were named kriyacharyas by Swami Kriyananda, and disseminate the liberating and ancient Kriya Yoga technique of Paramhansa Yogananda’s lineage. More

Meditation & Kriya Yoga

Learn to Meditate

Meditation is a technique for personal growth that has been practiced for thousands of years around the world with repeatable results. There is no aspect of your life that cannot be improved by meditation, whether it be in business, relationships, or health. The highest purpose of meditation, however, is to discover your Highest Self.

We offer a free, five day email series for a basic overview of how to meditate, which includes posture, where and when to meditate, and a simple effective technique. It also includes a subscription to our monthly Daily Meditator newsletter and monthly Inner Light newsletter.


Kriya Yoga

Kriya Yoga is an ancient meditation technique of energy and breath control, or pranayama. It is also a comprehensive spiritual path, which includes additional meditation practices and guidance for living.

The Kriya technique is given through personal initiation by one of our Kriya Yoga teachers. Initiation requires preparation which includes the practice of other meditation techniques and study of Paramhansa Yogananda’s teachings.
Learn More

Community

Let us join together in this wave of social transformation, and through our practice of meditation create a spirit of global unity that can lead to lasting peace.Nayaswami Devi

Connect Online

Ananda is very active online: Live events, satsangs, group guided meditations, and personal support through email and chat. Learn More

Visit in Person

Ananda has over 150 centers and meditation groups in over 45 countries which offer group meditations and classes. Learn More

Experience Community

Ananda has developed eight communities in the US, Europe, and India. Many offer internships where you can stay and experience community firsthand. Learn More

What’s New


Recent Posts and Videos

4:25

An Experience of God — From the Life of Yogananda

13:16

The Story of Shabari (From the Ramayana)

Can One Renounce Worldly Pleasures Yet Serve the Nation?

Dear Utkarsh, Did not Mahatma Gandhi do precisely that: renounce material goals and yet serve the nation? These two goals are not mutually exclusive. Did not Rama and Krishna and countless others do both: they renounced all outward things yet ... Read More

28:48

The Way of the Ananda Sanghi — Brothers and Sisters in God

4:39

Yasoda Experiences Krishna’s Infinite Nature

I Have Vivid Dreams That Trouble Me. They Even Result in Physical Pain.

Dear Apoorv, My understanding is that you are trying to witness your disconcerting dreams because in this way you can learn how to understand them, to handle them, to control them. But maybe this is not the way to go. ... Read More

“Thank you, God”

33:04

Lessons This Crisis Could Teach Us

36:32

The Inner Kingdom

Black Magic

Dear Diana, All that happens to us is, in some way, related to our own past action or association. Those who die in a tragedy, like an airplane crash, can’t possibly all have the individual karma to die in that ... Read More

7:49

Meditation Essentials: Stillness

1:02:38

Superconscious Tools: Yamas

Overcome Karma With Meditation and Guru’s Blessings

Dear Ashok, Thank you for your inspiring question. You have now, with the study courses you are doing, answers that will help you overcome all obstacles with the practices of the Hong Sau, Om and Kriya Yoga techniques. This is ... Read More

11:16

Warrior of Light

23:08

The Urban Renunciate: What is Your Essential Service?

Can I Prepare for Kriya Yoga and Practice Techniques From Other Sources?

Dear Friend, The now-classic text, The Art and Science of Raja Yoga, was written so as to prepare a student for the subtler technique of kriya yoga. Yet the text does not have all of the preparatory techniques that Paramhansa ... Read More

Taking charge of your life is like this blossoming lotus flower in bloom representing the spiritual aspirant

Taking Charge of Your life

What Did Jesus Mean in Saying, “I Have Not Come to Bring Peace, but a Sword”?

Dear Jo, Good question! Jesus often spoke metaphorically but used down-to-earth terms that suggest a literal interpretation. The verses that you quoted are a prime example. I’ll paraphrase how Paramhansa Yogananda interpreted those verses: The mission of every master is ... Read More

I Saw a Circle of Daggers in Meditation. What Does That Mean?

Dear Ato, Meditation, as Yogananda teaches it, is a process of becoming silent. In that state we become able, gradually, to perceive the presence of God, and our soul, which is a spark of God. In that process images can ... Read More

How Can I Invoke Sri Yukteswar to Bless My Life?

Dear Rubin, This is wonderful that you feel that inner connection. You can use the japa “Om Guru,” repeating it mentally while thinking of Sri Yukteswar. Or just using the name of a Master works wonderfully. In that case your ... Read More

Visual Images During Meditation: Good and Bad

Dear Pradnya, Visual images sometimes come in meditation. If we are deep in meditative stillness and bliss, we may see images connected with the spiritual eye or with saints. These come because we have entered into higher consciousness, which is ... Read More

Where Did Jesus Go When He Was Dead for Three Days?

Dear Oakes, According to Yogananda these three days are highly meaningful: “The resurrection of Jesus in three days has special significance. He was advanced enough to reincarnate his soul from the physical to the astral, and from there to the ... Read More

A Light in Dark Times

Similarities Between Attaining Self-Realization and the End of COVID Lockdown

Swami Kriyananda tribute with Nayaswami Jyotish his spiritual successor

Tribute to Kriyananda

Bliss: The Supercure for Addictions

reflection of swan in lake as the reflection of ourselves in mirror on spiritual journey

Three Mirrors

Controlling the Uncontrollable

All The World Is My Friend

From Lockdown to Lift-Off

7 Practices to Strengthen Yourself in Challenging Times

Master Works in Mysterious, Miraculous Ways 

How to Build Faith During Uncertain Times

Opportunity in Adversity

The transformational power of the teachings of Christ and Yogananda.

A Season of Change

How to Meditate According to Paramhansa Yogananda

Good Advice

“Many Hands Make a Miracle”

How the West Was (Spiritually) Won by Paramhansa Yogananda

Kanchenjunga mountains of India

Seeing Kanchenjunga


Featured

Upcoming Events

Ananda Village Internship 2020

STARTS JULY 1, 2020
IMG-20190710-WA0003

Are you interested in having a transformative summer experience of spiritual growth, selfless service, community living, self-discovery and adventure?

Swami Kriyananda says that “Cooperative communities are a highly practical solution for everyone seeking true meaning in life.”

Come join the Ananda Village Internship Program 2020 and experience what it is like to live the teachings!

Path to becoming an Intern

Yogananda 100

A Century of Spiritual Awakening

Celebrating 100 Years of Yogananda’s world mission uniting East and West. Learn more.

Next Major Event

May 19: Yogananda 100 Celebration — 3:00 –7:00 pm

Your support is a blessing for all

Ananda is a beacon of light, breaking through the darkness of this world with the universal teachings of Self-realization.

Thank you for being a part of this community of souls who support each other on our path to God.

Donate Now