Upcoming Events (Beta)

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Nov 29

Fire Ceremony & Meditation

Nov 29 10:00 am PST • Nov 29 18:00 GMT • Nov 29 23:30 IST

Ceremonies can be meaningful and powerful if we enter into them with faith and sincerity. This inward fire ceremony and meditation offer you an opportunity to open your heart for purification through divine grace.

In this ceremony we repeat two Sanskrit mantras, each seven times. Sanskrit is an ancient, vibrational language that is infused with spiritual power.

 

The Gayatri Mantra is for enlightenment.

Ghee (clarified butter) is offered into the fire at the end of each repetition as a symbol of our pure aspiration to be transformed.

 

Gayatri Mantra

Aum bhur bhuva swaha
Aum tat savitur varenyam
Bhargo devasya dhimahi
Dhiyo yo nah prachodayat
AUM

Translation

We meditate on the Spirit, the Supreme Lord and Light of the three universes. Who above all merits worship. May He remove our ignorance and enlighten our consciousness.

 

The Mahamrityunjaya Mantra is for liberation.

Rice is offered into the fire at the end of each repetition. The grains of rice symbolize the seeds of our past karma which we offer to be burned up and purified in the flames of divine love and wisdom.

 

Mahamrityunjaya Mantra

Aum triambakam yajamahe
Sugundhim pushti vardhanam
Urvarukameva bhandhanam
Mrityor mokshia mamritat
Swaha

Translation

We worship that One of divine vision who nourishes all living beings. May He liberate us from death and grant us immortality, even as the cucumber is severed from its bondage to the creeper.