Main Persons in This Story


Known as Mahavatar, or great incarnation. Guru of Lahiri Mahasaya.

Lahiri Mahasaya
Shayama Charan Lahiri, 1828 – 1895

Disciple of Babaji and guru of Sri Yukteswar. Yogananda described him as yogavatar, or “incarnation of yoga.”

Sri Yukteswar
Priya Nath Karar, 1855 – 1936

Disciple of Lahiri Mahasaya and guru of Paramhansa Yogananda. Yogananda described him as a gyanavatar, or “incarnation of wisdom.”

Paramhansa Yogananda
“Master,” 1893 – 1952

The founder of Self-Realization Fellowship (SRF). A great master of yoga who lived and taught in the West. Rajarsi Janakananda described him as a premavatar, or “incarnation of love”.

Rajarsi Janakananda
Saint Lynn, James J. Lynn, 1892 – 1955

Paramhansa Yogananda’s foremost disciple. The second President of Self-Realization Fellowship.

Daya Mata
Faye Wright, 1914–

The third President of Self-Realization Fellowship.

Tara Mata
Laurie Pratt, 1900 – 1970

Second Vice-President and member of the Board of Directors of Self-Realization Fellowship.