Message for the Birthday of Yogananda

January 5, from the Temple of Light

An inspiring birthday message from Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi, Ananda Spiritual Directors, is recorded in honor of the occasion.

Watch Birthday Message

What Is
Ananda?

Ananda is dedicated to the belief, born of experience, that you can live in joy. We teach effective techniques for expanding your sense of self, such as meditation, Kriya Yoga, spiritual Hatha Yoga, and divine friendship.
More about Ananda

Stay in Touch

Our Inspiration

Paramhansa Yogananda has been called the father of yoga and meditation in the West. His Autobiography helped spark and inspire a spiritual revolution across the world. Among the over three-hundred (influential spiritual voices) I interviewed about their key spiritual influences, a high percentage named a book, and by far the book most often mentioned was Yogananda’s unique memoir.Phil Goldberg, American Veda
Paramhansa Yogananda (1893 – 1952), best known as the author of Autobiography of a Yogi, was the first guru from India to make his home permanently in the United States.Paramhansa Yogananda showed how everyone, by means of meditation, can realize God in their daily lives as a tangible, loving reality. He taught an ancient meditation technique known as Kriya Yoga, by which one can quickly attain Self-realization. More
Swami Kriyananda (1926–2013), is a direct disciple of Paramhansa Yogananda and the founder of Ananda’s worldwide movement.

At the request of Yogananda, Swami Kriyananda dedicated his life to lecturing and writing, and has also produced hundreds of pieces of music, to help others to find joy within. More

With the passing of Swami Kriyananda in 2013, Nayaswami Jyotish was named by Kriyananda as his spiritual successor. Jyotishji met Swami Kriyananda in 1966, working closely with him and his wife, Devi (who came to Ananda in 1969), to build Ananda’s work around the world. Both Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi were named kriyacharyas by Swami Kriyananda, and disseminate the liberating and ancient Kriya Yoga technique of Paramhansa Yogananda’s lineage. More

Meditation & Kriya Yoga

Learn to Meditate

Meditation is a technique for personal growth that has been practiced for thousands of years around the world with repeatable results. There is no aspect of your life that cannot be improved by meditation, whether it be in business, relationships, or health. The highest purpose of meditation, however, is to discover your Highest Self.

We offer a free, five day email series for a basic overview of how to meditate, which includes posture, where and when to meditate, and a simple effective technique. It also includes a subscription to our monthly Daily Meditator newsletter and monthly Inner Light newsletter.


Online Course: Lessons in Meditation

Whether or not you are new to meditation, this course will help you develop a deep and consistent practice. With ample feedback from meditators with decades of experience and your own persistence, you will awaken your true nature: a pure reflection of divine peace, joy, and love.

Ananda is known for its expertise in meditation, and for almost 50 years has trained teachers in techniques grounded in the highest yogic practices of India, as brought to the West by Paramhansa Yogananda.


Next Session:
January 21, 2021  – April 1, 2021

Tuition: $99.95

Enroll Now
Start a New Meditation Practice or Inspire Your Current One
Why Keep the Needle of My Attention, Through Meditation, Ever Pointing Toward Thee


Kriya Yoga

Kriya Yoga is an ancient meditation technique of energy and breath control, or pranayama. It is also a comprehensive spiritual path, which includes additional meditation practices and guidance for living.

The Kriya technique is given through personal initiation by one of our Kriya Yoga teachers. Initiation requires preparation which includes the practice of other meditation techniques and study of Paramhansa Yogananda’s teachings.
Learn More


Community

Let us join together in this wave of social transformation, and through our practice of meditation create a spirit of global unity that can lead to lasting peace.Nayaswami Devi

Connect Online

Ananda is very active online: Live events, satsangs, group guided meditations, and personal support through email and chat. Learn More

Find a Local Center

Ananda has over 150 centers and meditation groups in over 45 countries which offer group meditations and classes. Learn More

Experience Community

Ananda has developed eight communities in the US, Europe, and India. Many offer internships where you can stay and experience community firsthand. Learn More


Be a Warrior for the Light

Now is the time to bring light and positive energy into the world — it’s needed today more than ever.

Watch this video from Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi, along with Dr. Peter van Houten, to learn what we can do on all levels — spiritually and physically — to be safe and help the world.

You can also read this letter to all of Ananda. And for more medical information, see this informative video on COVID-19.

God’s light is within me and around me. With the sword of faith in my hand, with the love of God in my heart, I am a warrior of light. I join my brothers and sisters everywhere to overcome fear with faith, hatred with love, and disease with health. We all are warriors of light. We fill the world with God’s light.”


A Call to Action

Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi share about the need for positive action in this time of turmoil and crisis.

Join the Campaign for World Healing


Every Thursday at 8:00 am PST / 5:00 pm CEST / 9:30 pm IST, Ananda centers in the U.S., India, and Italy host a gathering to meditate, affirm, and visualize light and harmony in the world.

Learn more

What’s New


Recent Posts and Videos

48:23

Awaken Your Energy – Energization Exercises with Gyandev

yoganandas mother ghosh

Dealing with Change and Loss

8:01

Dealing with Change and Loss – Commentary

  AUDIO ONLY

Gazing at an Aghori Yogi’s Eyes, I Received a Lasting Feeling of Terror. What To Do?

Dear Nicole, Yes, these Aghori yogis can be scary. Did it happen in 2019, when all the naga-babas etc. came to Varanasi, sitting in tents? In that case, I was there too. For the future: the eyes are a powerful ... Read More

6:47

Dealing with Change and Loss

  AUDIO ONLY

How Long Will It Take Us to Achieve God-Union?

Dear Abhishek, Yogananda was, as far as I understand, already an avatar, fully united with God, when he incarnated as Arjuna. He acted the role of the humble disciple, just as he did in the role of Yogananda. Arjuna and ... Read More

47:27

Connect with Divine Joy

How to Focus at the Spiritual Eye

Dear Luis, Meditation involves an inward and upward focus of our awareness, withdrawing energy from the senses, and tuning into subtle divine realities. The spiritual eye, the energy center at the point between the eyebrows, is the doorway to these ... Read More

1:16:10

Arjuna’s Greatest Battle – Stories from the Mahabharata

Who Was Melchizedek in the Old Testament?

Dear Jim, Melchizedek played the dual role of King and priest. Yogananda never mentions him, as far as I know, therefore I don’t know much about him. If he was, as some think, indeed like God in form (the “logos” ... Read More

5:31

Tuning in to the Sacred AUM Vibration

Using a Timer for Meditation

Dear Kaydee, I’ve used a timer from time to time (pun intended). And, yes, I agree it seems artificial. Here’s what some meditation students ask: “If I only have a certain amount of time to meditate, how will I know ... Read More

38:03

Did God Create the Universe or Become It?

Can a Tantric Yogi Harm or Even Kill a Person?

Dear Nicole, I wouldn’t call it shaktipat (transferal of energy), which is intended to be an act of love and blessing. Nor is it avesa, a term (as I understand it) which means to enter with one’s consciousness into the ... Read More

46:27

Stay Calm During Activity – Spiritual Yoga with Gyandev

Which Mantra Is Best for Peace?

Dear Rajender, The mantra you choose is determined primarily by its effects upon your consciousness. The Gayatri is a mantra for both personal and global enlightenment. It is therefore by definition a prayer for peace. The Mahamantra (Krishna) is a ... Read More

3:43

Discover the Inner Kingdom

19:07

How to Apply Common Sense to Your Intuition

How Can One Have Surgery Without Anesthesia? How Can One Receive the Sickness of Another Person?

Dear Thangaraj, Namashkar. 1. Ramana Maharishi did it through a technique known to all advanced yogis. It is prayamama, energy control: the energy is completely withdrawn from the body, into the spine. Nothing is perceived outside anymore. The yogi is ... Read More

paramhansa yogananda is the avatar of love, wisdom, and joy author of autobiography of a yogi

In Love and Appreciation

How Do I Protect Myself from People Who Want to Replace My Good Karma With Their Bad Karma?

Dear Nicole, You ask some probing and complex questions about how karma works. It’s easy to say that karma is simply action and effects of action. But beyond that, it isn’t easy at all. Let’s try to tease out some ... Read More

My Husband Died Suddenly

Dear Richa, First please accept the love and condolences I am offering on behalf of Ananda Sangha to you and your family for your loss. I am sending prayers to you, your son, and the soul of your husband. There ... Read More

The Imitation of Yogananda

Four Lamps to Illumine 2021

Help Comes Along the Way

yogananda true meaning of christmas and three wise men

Coming Full Circle

Christmas Alchemy

paramhansa yogananda toured across the us and coined the term art of living, great yoga master kriya yoga and author of autobiography of a yogi

Creating a New Language

Music, Intuition, and Spiritual Growth

Christmas for the Soul

World Brotherhood

The Many Faces of Divine Mother

how now more than ever the world needs compassion and the spirit of world brotherhood shown ananda temple blessing with jyotish and devi

Now More Than Ever

God’s Light Has Descended

thanksgiving message yogananda teachings

Thank You

Happy Thanksgiving

Keys to Helping Others Spiritually

Nine Deep Relaxations and Visualizations

Sri Yukteswar and his disciple, Paramhansa Yogananda author of Autobiography of a Yogi

Unrequited Love

Running a Marathon


Online Events

LIVE

Festival of Light Service

Jan 17 11:00 am PST • Jan 17 19:00 GMT • Jan 18 00:30 IST

“Warriors of Light” Meditation

Jan 18 6:00 am PST • Jan 18 14:00 GMT • Jan 18 19:30 IST

Vibras Meditation for Kids

Jan 18 10:30 am PST • Jan 18 18:30 GMT • Jan 19 00:00 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Jan 18 12:00 pm PST • Jan 18 20:00 GMT • Jan 19 01:30 IST

Nurturing Your Soul: 15-Min Guided Meditation for Beginners

Jan 18 12:00 pm PST • Jan 18 20:00 GMT • Jan 19 01:30 IST

Awake and Ready Yoga

Jan 18 1:00 pm PST • Jan 18 21:00 GMT • Jan 19 02:30 IST

Living Yoga Satsang

Jan 18 3:00 pm PST • Jan 18 23:00 GMT • Jan 19 04:30 IST

Yoga Flow for Stamina & Strength

Jan 18 4:00 pm PST • Jan 19 00:00 GMT • Jan 19 05:30 IST

Treasures Virtual Satsang

Jan 18 5:00 pm PST • Jan 19 01:00 GMT • Jan 19 06:30 IST

The Essence of the Bhagavad Gita

Jan 19 12:15 am PST • Jan 19 08:15 GMT • Jan 19 13:45 IST

Treasures Along the Path

Jan 19 8:00 am PST • Jan 19 16:00 GMT • Jan 19 21:30 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Jan 19 12:00 pm PST • Jan 19 20:00 GMT • Jan 20 01:30 IST

Nurturing Your Soul: 15-Min Guided Meditation for Beginners

Jan 19 12:00 pm PST • Jan 19 20:00 GMT • Jan 20 01:30 IST

Ananda Yoga & Meditation Sadhana

Jan 19 3:00 pm PST • Jan 19 23:00 GMT • Jan 20 04:30 IST

Conversations with Yogananda

Jan 19 7:30 pm PST • Jan 20 03:30 GMT • Jan 20 09:00 IST

Weekly Guided Kriya Meditation

Jan 20 5:30 am PST • Jan 20 13:30 GMT • Jan 20 19:00 IST

Whispers From Eternity: An Exploration of Prayer and Poetry

Jan 20 8:15 am PST • Jan 20 16:15 GMT • Jan 20 21:45 IST

Family Yoga

Jan 20 9:00 am PST • Jan 20 17:00 GMT • Jan 20 22:30 IST

Ananda Yoga: Rise and Shine!

Jan 20 9:00 am PST • Jan 20 17:00 GMT • Jan 20 22:30 IST

Healing Prayers for the World

Jan 20 10:00 am PST • Jan 20 18:00 GMT • Jan 20 23:30 IST

More Events

Upcoming Events

Lessons in Meditation

Start a New Meditation Practice or Inspire Your Current One
17 Lessons in Meditation

The 10-week Lessons in Meditation program is designed to provide in-depth instruction in scientific meditation techniques that bring more peace, deeper relaxation, and focused concentration to every area of your life, regardless of outer conditions.

These techniques are based on the teachings of Paramhansa Yogananda, author of Autobiography of a Yogi.

Next Session: January 21, 2021  – April 1, 2021

Tuition: $99.95

Find Out More

Online Ananda Meditation® Teacher Training

Become an Inspiring, Professional Meditation Teacher

Learn More

The Ananda Meditation® Teacher Training online will prepare you to teach meditation to anyone, whether for stress relief, better health, emotional stability, greater effectiveness, or the highest that meditation can offer.

Deepen your own meditation practice and gain new intuitive understanding of your inner life – your challenges, your gifts – as a path to becoming an inspiring meditation teacher. Our faculty team utilizes the best practices of online teaching – for your fullest learning experience.

Online starting January 20 – March 31, 2021

Thank You, God – Tithing as a Spiritual Practice


Tithing is a spiritual practice, a conscious expression of gratitude given without condition to the source of your inspiration– God. We invite you to try it. Hear the stories of others, but test this teaching in your own life and see what transpires.

Learn More About Thank You, God

Your support is a blessing for all

Ananda is a beacon of light, breaking through the darkness of this world with the universal teachings of Self-realization.

Thank you for being a part of this community of souls who support each other on our path to God.

Donate Now