Video and Audio

Swami Sri Yukteswar: The Seven Lokas

Nayaswami Jaya
November 8, 2023

Nayaswami Jaya continues his inspiring discussion of key aspects of Sri Yukteswar's profound book The Holy Science. In this seventh satsang he explains the great Master's teaching the five stages of the human heart and on the seven realms of consciousness, or lokas.

Nayaswami Jaya is a long-time disciple of Paramhansa Yogananda and the path of Kriya Yoga, and together with Nayaswami Dhyana the spiritual director of Ananda Sangha India. (Short quotes are from Kaivalya Darsanam, the original public domain version of The Holy Science by Swami Sri Yukteswar, which is published by Self-Realization Fellowship)


Sri Yukteswar was born to a wealthy business man and his wife on May 10, 1855, in Serampore, India. Upon leaving college, he married and had a daughter, and in 1884 he became a disciple of Lahiri Mahasaya. After the death of his wife, Priya Nath Karar became a Swami and received the name Sri Yukteswar Giri. He met Babaji, the guru of Lahiri Mahasaya, in 1894. Babaji told him that one day he would send Sri Yukteswar a disciple who would share the teachings of yoga in the West. This disciple turned out to be Paramhansa Yogananda, who is best known for his book, Autobiography of a Yogi. Babaji also asked Sri Yukteswar to write a book on the essential unity of the Bible and Bhagavad Gita, the most well-known scripture in India. Sri Yukteswar titled this book The Holy Science. Sri Yukteswar founded two hermitages, one of which was his family home given to him by his father as his inheritance. In the last year of his life, Sri Yukteswar turned over all his properties to Paramhansa Yogananda, asking him to find someone to maintain them. Sri Yukteswar left his body on March 9, 1936. Soon after, he appeared to Yogananda and described to him the nature of the afterlife. This description can be found in Yogananda's Autobiography of a Yogi.

More videos from Nayaswami Jaya