“I Am a Warrior of Light”


We encourage and invite you to practice this affirmation with us during these challenging times, with its focus on radiating light to the world.

“God’s light is within me and around me. With the sword of faith in my hand, with the love of God in my heart, I am a warrior of light. I join my brothers and sisters everywhere to overcome fear with faith, hatred with love, and disease with health. We all are warriors of light. We fill the world with God’s light.”

What Is
Ananda?

Ananda is dedicated to the belief, born of experience, that you can live in joy. We teach effective techniques for expanding your sense of self, such as meditation, Kriya Yoga, spiritual Hatha Yoga, and divine friendship.
More about Ananda

Stay in Touch

Our Inspiration

Paramhansa Yogananda has been called the father of yoga and meditation in the West. His Autobiography helped spark and inspire a spiritual revolution across the world. Among the over three-hundred (influential spiritual voices) I interviewed about their key spiritual influences, a high percentage named a book, and by far the book most often mentioned was Yogananda’s unique memoir.Phil Goldberg, American Veda
Paramhansa Yogananda (1893 – 1952), best known as the author of Autobiography of a Yogi, was the first guru from India to make his home permanently in the United States.Paramhansa Yogananda showed how everyone, by means of meditation, can realize God in their daily lives as a tangible, loving reality. He taught an ancient meditation technique known as Kriya Yoga, by which one can quickly attain Self-realization. More
Swami Kriyananda (1926–2013), is a direct disciple of Paramhansa Yogananda and the founder of Ananda’s worldwide movement.

At the request of Yogananda, Swami Kriyananda dedicated his life to lecturing and writing, and has also produced hundreds of pieces of music, to help others to find joy within. More

With the passing of Swami Kriyananda in 2013, Nayaswami Jyotish was named by Kriyananda as his spiritual successor. Jyotishji met Swami Kriyananda in 1966, working closely with him and his wife, Devi (who came to Ananda in 1969), to build Ananda’s work around the world. Both Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi were named kriyacharyas by Swami Kriyananda, and disseminate the liberating and ancient Kriya Yoga technique of Paramhansa Yogananda’s lineage. More

Meditation & Kriya Yoga

Learn to Meditate

Meditation is a technique for personal growth that has been practiced for thousands of years around the world with repeatable results. There is no aspect of your life that cannot be improved by meditation, whether it be in business, relationships, or health. The highest purpose of meditation, however, is to discover your Highest Self.

We offer a free, five day email series for a basic overview of how to meditate, which includes posture, where and when to meditate, and a simple effective technique. It also includes a subscription to our monthly Daily Meditator newsletter and monthly Inner Light newsletter.


Online Course: Lessons in Meditation

Whether or not you are new to meditation, this course will help you develop a deep and consistent practice. With ample feedback from meditators with decades of experience and your own persistence, you will awaken your true nature: a pure reflection of divine peace, joy, and love.

Ananda is known for its expertise in meditation, and for almost 50 years has trained teachers in techniques grounded in the highest yogic practices of India, as brought to the West by Paramhansa Yogananda.


Current Session:
January 21, 2021  – April 1, 2021

Next Session:
March 4, 2021  – May 13, 2021

Tuition: $99.95

Enroll Now
Start a New Meditation Practice or Inspire Your Current One
Why Keep the Needle of My Attention, Through Meditation, Ever Pointing Toward Thee


Kriya Yoga

Kriya Yoga is an ancient meditation technique of energy and breath control, or pranayama. It is also a comprehensive spiritual path, which includes additional meditation practices and guidance for living.

The Kriya technique is given through personal initiation by one of our Kriya Yoga teachers. Initiation requires preparation which includes the practice of other meditation techniques and study of Paramhansa Yogananda’s teachings.
Learn More


Community

Let us join together in this wave of social transformation, and through our practice of meditation create a spirit of global unity that can lead to lasting peace.Nayaswami Devi

Connect Online

Ananda is very active online: Live events, satsangs, group guided meditations, and personal support through email and chat. Learn More

Find a Local Center

Ananda has over 150 centers and meditation groups in over 45 countries which offer group meditations and classes. Learn More

Experience Community

Ananda has developed eight communities in the US, Europe, and India. Many offer internships where you can stay and experience community firsthand. Learn More


Be a Warrior for the Light

Now is the time to bring light and positive energy into the world — it’s needed today more than ever.

Watch this video from Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi, along with Dr. Peter van Houten, to learn what we can do on all levels — spiritually and physically — to be safe and help the world.

You can also read this letter to all of Ananda. And for more medical information, see this informative video on COVID-19.

God’s light is within me and around me. With the sword of faith in my hand, with the love of God in my heart, I am a warrior of light. I join my brothers and sisters everywhere to overcome fear with faith, hatred with love, and disease with health. We all are warriors of light. We fill the world with God’s light.”


A Call to Action

Nayaswamis Jyotish and Devi share about the need for positive action in this time of turmoil and crisis.

Join the Campaign for World Healing


Every Thursday at 8:00 am PST / 5:00 pm CEST / 9:30 pm IST, Ananda centers in the U.S., India, and Italy host a gathering to meditate, affirm, and visualize light and harmony in the world.

Learn more

What’s New


Recent Posts and Videos

I Still Love My Ex. Now He Has Died. My Heart Is Broken.

Dear Trudy, Your love is deeply inspiring: after 20 years of separation, of hardly any contact, after his alcohol addiction and aggression, you still feel that strong love. This is close to divine unconditional Love. All situations come to us ... Read More

6:12

How Do We Know What Is True? (Part 1)

47:45

The Autobiography of a Yogi: Book Study (Class 24)

To Whom Should I Pray?

Dear Friend, Your efforts are admirable and well-inspired — yet thwarted by dividing your concentration and devotion. However, you must remember that God and Divine Mother are equally in not only each of us but also very powerfully in those ... Read More

7:13

Do This Today: Laugh from Your Heart

3:28

Yogananda’s Compassion

43:11

The Bhagavad Gita: Scripture Study (Class 19)

38:00

Is God Present Even There Where There Is Ignorance?

56:22

Interviewing Asha about her book “Loved and Protected”

The Higher Mathematics of Paramhansa Yogananda

How Can I Stay Connected with the Soul of My Departed Loved One?

Dear Tina, Yes, on a deep inner level you can maintain inner contact with the soul of the beloved one. During meditation try to feel the presence of God and then apply the technique Yogananda describes: Send your thoughts of ... Read More

48:23

Awaken Your Energy – Energization Exercises with Gyandev

8:01

Dealing with Change and Loss – Commentary

  AUDIO ONLY
yoganandas mother ghosh

Dealing with Change and Loss

Gazing at an Aghori Yogi’s Eyes, I Received a Lasting Feeling of Terror. What To Do?

Dear Nicole, Yes, these Aghori yogis can be scary. Did it happen in 2019, when all the naga-babas etc. came to Varanasi, sitting in tents? In that case, I was there too. For the future: the eyes are a powerful ... Read More

6:47

Dealing with Change and Loss

  AUDIO ONLY

How Long Will It Take Us to Achieve God-Union?

Dear Abhishek, Yogananda was, as far as I understand, already an avatar, fully united with God, when he incarnated as Arjuna. He acted the role of the humble disciple, just as he did in the role of Yogananda. Arjuna and ... Read More

How to Focus at the Spiritual Eye

Dear Luis, Meditation involves an inward and upward focus of our awareness, withdrawing energy from the senses, and tuning into subtle divine realities. The spiritual eye, the energy center at the point between the eyebrows, is the doorway to these ... Read More

Who Was Melchizedek in the Old Testament?

Dear Jim, Melchizedek played the dual role of King and priest. Yogananda never mentions him, as far as I know, therefore I don’t know much about him. If he was, as some think, indeed like God in form (the “logos” ... Read More

Using a Timer for Meditation

Dear Kaydee, I’ve used a timer from time to time (pun intended). And, yes, I agree it seems artificial. Here’s what some meditation students ask: “If I only have a certain amount of time to meditate, how will I know ... Read More

Can a Tantric Yogi Harm or Even Kill a Person?

Dear Nicole, I wouldn’t call it shaktipat (transferal of energy), which is intended to be an act of love and blessing. Nor is it avesa, a term (as I understand it) which means to enter with one’s consciousness into the ... Read More

Which Mantra Is Best for Peace?

Dear Rajender, The mantra you choose is determined primarily by its effects upon your consciousness. The Gayatri is a mantra for both personal and global enlightenment. It is therefore by definition a prayer for peace. The Mahamantra (Krishna) is a ... Read More

paramhansa yogananda is the avatar of love, wisdom, and joy author of autobiography of a yogi

In Love and Appreciation

The Imitation of Yogananda

Four Lamps to Illumine 2021

Help Comes Along the Way

yogananda true meaning of christmas and three wise men

Coming Full Circle

Christmas Alchemy

paramhansa yogananda toured across the us and coined the term art of living, great yoga master kriya yoga and author of autobiography of a yogi

Creating a New Language

Music, Intuition, and Spiritual Growth

Christmas for the Soul

World Brotherhood

The Many Faces of Divine Mother

how now more than ever the world needs compassion and the spirit of world brotherhood shown ananda temple blessing with jyotish and devi

Now More Than Ever

God’s Light Has Descended

thanksgiving message yogananda teachings

Thank You

Happy Thanksgiving

Keys to Helping Others Spiritually

Sri Yukteswar and his disciple, Paramhansa Yogananda author of Autobiography of a Yogi

Unrequited Love

Running a Marathon


Online Events

LIVE

Weekly Satsang with Swamis Hriman & Padma

Jan 21 7:30 pm PST • Jan 22 03:30 GMT • Jan 22 09:00 IST

Ananda Yoga: Rise and Shine!

Jan 22 9:00 am PST • Jan 22 17:00 GMT • Jan 22 22:30 IST

Lunchtime Meditation

Jan 22 10:00 am PST • Jan 22 18:00 GMT • Jan 22 23:30 IST

Vibras Meditation for Kids

Jan 22 10:30 am PST • Jan 22 18:30 GMT • Jan 23 00:00 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Jan 22 12:00 pm PST • Jan 22 20:00 GMT • Jan 23 01:30 IST

Nurturing Your Soul: 15-Min Guided Meditation for Beginners

Jan 22 12:00 pm PST • Jan 22 20:00 GMT • Jan 23 01:30 IST

Awake and Ready Yoga

Jan 22 1:00 pm PST • Jan 22 21:00 GMT • Jan 23 02:30 IST

Friday Night “Happy Hour” Kirtan!

Jan 22 5:00 pm PST • Jan 23 01:00 GMT • Jan 23 06:30 IST

Friday Night “Happy Hour” Kirtan!

Jan 22 5:00 pm PST • Jan 23 01:00 GMT • Jan 23 06:30 IST

Saturday Morning Yoga with Lynn

Jan 23 7:00 am PST • Jan 23 15:00 GMT • Jan 23 20:30 IST

Corona Cooking Foodies Fundraiser

Jan 23 2:00 pm PST • Jan 23 22:00 GMT • Jan 24 03:30 IST

Sunday Service at Ananda Washington

Jan 24 1:30 am PST • Jan 24 09:30 GMT • Jan 24 15:00 IST

Servizio Domenicale

Jan 24 2:45 am PST • Jan 24 10:45 GMT • Jan 24 16:15 IST

Sunday Satsang

Jan 24 8:00 am PST • Jan 24 16:00 GMT • Jan 24 21:30 IST

Sunday Service

Jan 24 10:00 am PST • Jan 24 18:00 GMT • Jan 24 23:30 IST

Sunday Worship Service

Jan 24 10:00 am PST • Jan 24 18:00 GMT • Jan 24 23:30 IST

Festival of Light Service

Jan 24 11:00 am PST • Jan 24 19:00 GMT • Jan 25 00:30 IST

“Warriors of Light” Meditation

Jan 25 6:00 am PST • Jan 25 14:00 GMT • Jan 25 19:30 IST

Vibras Meditation for Kids

Jan 25 10:30 am PST • Jan 25 18:30 GMT • Jan 26 00:00 IST

“Whispers from Eternity” — a Daily Broadcast of Inspiration

Jan 25 12:00 pm PST • Jan 25 20:00 GMT • Jan 26 01:30 IST

More Events

Upcoming Events

Take Charge of Your Life Online Series This February

YOGIC TECHNIQUES FOR THRIVING AMIDST CHANGE: FEBRUARY 20 - APRIL 17, 2021
Screenshot 2021-01-18 112257

AN INSPIRING SERIES WITH NAYASWAMIS GYANDEV & DIKSHA

Gain an entire toolbox of simple, yet powerful, techniques for working directly with subtle energy, the intelligent force that makes things happen in this world—and inside of you. Based on the teachings of Paramhansa Yogananda.

Thank You, God – Tithing as a Spiritual Practice


Tithing is a spiritual practice, a conscious expression of gratitude given without condition to the source of your inspiration– God. We invite you to try it. Hear the stories of others, but test this teaching in your own life and see what transpires.

Learn More About Thank You, God

Your support is a blessing for all

Ananda is a beacon of light, breaking through the darkness of this world with the universal teachings of Self-realization.

Thank you for being a part of this community of souls who support each other on our path to God.

Donate Now