Shankya Philosophy


Hello and Atma Namaste from Vienna, Austria!

I refer to the 24 categories of manifestaion: chitta, ego, intellect, mind, 10 organs of perception and action. 5 subtle and gross elements. Where in this system are the five pranas operating in the body? And which is the first manifestation: ego or chitta?

Thank you very much,


—Dr. Andreas Ullrich, Austria


Dear Friend,

Your question is an interesting one and one I recall stumbling upon some years ago. It is, at least for me, however, only an intellectual question and not one of my own inner realization.

It would take me some research into some edited commentaries of Paramhansa Yogananda to speak more definitively and technically, but for now I recall that the five pranas are aligned in the system you describe with the five elements, earth, fire, water, air, and ether. I think the distinction arises in some minor differences between Patanjali and traditional Shankya teachings.

Another reference would be The Holy Science by Swami Sri Yukteswar.

Perhaps one of the other Ananda respondents will recall more specifically the reconciliation but I do recall having the same question and finding the answer in Yogananda’s commentaries, God Talks with Arjuna.