Are Chakras Masculine or Feminine?


What is a male personality like if he is more dominated in masculine chakras (1st, 3rd, 5th)? What is a female personality like if she is dominated by masculine chakras (1st, 3rd, 5th)? What is a male personality like if he is dominated by feminine chakras (2nd, 4th, 6th)? What is a female personality like if she is dominated by feminine chakras (2nd, 4th, 6th)?

—Reddy, India


Dear Reddy,

Yogananda, whose teachings we follow here at Ananda, did not identify individual chakras, as far as I know, as masculine or feminine.

Swami Kriyananda, a direct disciple of Yogananda and the founder of Ananda, did discuss the masculine and feminine in creation. Everyone has masculine and feminine qualities within them. The masculine energy is outward and creative, the feminine energy is inward, and when directed outward nourishes life and creativity. How these qualities express in each individual is unique to their soul’s journey, their karma and current life experiences.

This duality within us reflects the duality of all creation. Nothing in creation is static.  It is in constant vibration between polar opposites including male and female. As we evolve spiritually, we become less defined by our personality including masculine and feminine characteristics and these qualities eventually come into harmonious balance. The spiritually advanced soul expresses both masculine and feminine at the highest octave. For instance, the masculine quality of reason is purified into wisdom and the feminine quality of feeling is purified into impersonal, all embracing love. This can be observed in great saints, East and West. Our soul is without definition, including by gender.

The spiritual journey understood at the level of our astral spine involves turning the energy of each chakra upward to the spiritual eye, the center of enlightenment at the point between the eyebrows. From this point the energy passes up to the crown chakra, the center of liberation. These spinal energies are unified by the rising kundalini energy which resides below the base of the spine and rises through each chakra from the base of the spine up to the spiritual eye. Kundalini is considered feminine and the all of the chakras are considered masculine. All spiritual practices are meant to facilitate this rising energy.

If you would like to read more on the chakras, you can take a look at this free article: The Chakras: The Seven Gates to Freedom

Many Blessings,
Nayaswami Mukti